Skip to main content
Photo by Omer Yukseker, Design by Laura Wills

Bear

Le 17 au 20 janvier 2024
20h00 à la Citadelle
Tickets: Not Currently Available
Première mondiale

La présentation de Bear est rendue possible (en partie) par le gouvernement du Canada.

16mm Fragments de Sonya Stefan

Installation vidéo
Jean Soper Studio
Les portes sont ouvertes tous les soirs à 19h

Citadel LIVE présente

Bear
Chorégraphiée et interprétée par Allison Cummings


Bear 
est un voyage méditatif à travers les rêves, les idées, les personnes et les chemins qui constituent une vie. L’œuvre relie ce qu’un individu offre à ce qu’il reçoit au milieu de l’imprévisibilité chaotique de la vie, tout en existant dans un système chronométré de schémas et de cycles universels précis. Enfin, dès son origine, il s’agit d’une confrontation à la maternité dans la perspective très réelle de laisser un enfant sans mère avant qu’il ne soit adulte.


La durée approximative est de 50 minutes.


Bear est accompagné d’une installation vidéo de Sonya Stefan, cinéaste et artiste de danse. Reprenant l’esthétique du film 16 mm, l’installation présentera des extraits de diverses expériences cinématographiques, avec les artistes Elena Kargin, Sylvain Poirier et Charlotte, la fille de Stefan.

Les artistes

Photo of Allison Cummings Photo by Lyon Smith

Allison Cummings

Chorégraphe / Interprète

Allison Cummings est une interprète/chorégraphe/artiste qui produit son travail artistique sous le nom de Sore for Punching You. Elle est basée à Toronto au Canada. Son travail a été présenté dans de nombreux lieux et festivals à travers le Canada depuis 1996. Au niveau international, son travail a été présenté à Accra, au Ghana, et à Chiang Mai, au nord de la Thaïlande. 

Elle a autoproduit cinq œuvres multidisciplinaires complètes, Quiver ’02, Clutch ’06, Devouring Lions ’09, Final Savage Land ’13 et Exhale ’18, qui ont été présentées dans divers lieux à Toronto. La STDT (Dance Arts Institute), le TDT et plusieurs artistes solistes au Canada lui ont été commandés des nombreuses œuvres.

Elle est récipiendaire de plusieurs bourses et prix artistiques, dont, entre autres: la bourse John D. et Susan P. Diekman – Californie – 2012, The John D. and Susan P. Diekman Fellowship – Californie – 2012, The Toronto Emerging Artist Award in Dance – 2000, K.M Hunter Award Shortlisted – 2006 et 2008.

Elle a récemment été nommée directrice artistique du Moonhorse Dance Theatre, une organisation qui vise à offrir des opportunités de présentation aux danseurs établis âgés de plus de 45 ans.

www.soreforpunchingyou.com

Photo of Sonya Stefan

Sonya Stefan

Cinéaste | Artiste de danse

La spécialité de Sonya Stefan réside dans le film en 16mm et le documentaire sur la danse. Son parcours artistique a été couronné de prestigieuses reconnaissances, notamment le prix du Meilleur Film de Moyenne Longueur National en 2021 au Festival International du Documentaire de Montréal (RIDM) pour son œuvre intitulée ‘The Truss Arch.’ Par la suite, en 2022, elle a reçu le titre du Meilleur Film Expérimental aux Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma.

Le travail créatif de Sonya s’est également étendu aux Iris Awards de 2022, où son film a été nominé dans la catégorie du Meilleur Documentaire Court. Son travail a été présenté sur les écrans de festivals renommés tels que le Festival du Film d’Ann Arbor et d’autres scènes internationales.​

Lors de sa résidence en Argentine avec ArtlabPro, Sonya a collaboré avec l’artiste sonore Amplify D.A.I., Lain-9, aboutissant à la création de leur œuvre inaugurale, ‘IK Pegasi,’ conçue avec Touch Designer. Les aspirations artistiques de Sonya l’ont amenée à collaborer avec des entités de renom, notamment la compagnie de danse multimédia Animals of Distinction et le groupe de musique expérimentale Group A de Berlin, composé de Tommi Tokyo et Sayaka Botanic. En partenariat avec l’artiste Stéphanie Castonguay, leur collectif, connu sous le nom de ‘Technologies of Consciousness,’ est devenu le tout premier artiste en résidence au Biosphère de Montréal. Là-bas, ils ont entrepris des recherches sur les bioplastiques, préparant le terrain pour leur prochain travail, ‘L’Intimité des Inconnus.’ L’empreinte artistique de Sonya Stefan continue d’évoluer, repoussant les frontières de l’art multimédia et ouvrant la voie à des expressions créatives innovantes.

www.sonyastefan.com

Crédits

Chorégraphe et interprète: Allison Cummings (Sore for Punching You)
Conceptrice de son: Valerie Calam
Conception des costumes: Valerie Calam
Scénographie: Allison Cummings, Porter Cummings

Conception d’éclairage
: Sharon DiGenova
Oeil extérieur: Vivine Scarlett

Le développement et la production de « Bear » ont été généreusement soutenus par le Conseil des arts du Canada et le Conseil des arts de Toronto.

Notes de l’artiste

Cette œuvre est en développement depuis 2019. Elle a bénéficié de résidences de création au défunt Hub14, de la Peggy Baker Dance Projects Space Residency à l’École National du Ballet, de la TDT Space Residency et de la Arts Orillia Dance and Design Residency. Cette œuvre est créée pour Danny Wild et Porter Cummings.

Headshot of Valerie Calam

Valerie Calam

Conceptrice de son | Coordination de costume

Biographie
Retour à Citadel LIVE 23.24

Skip to main content
Photo by Omer Yukseker, Design by Laura Wills

Bear

January 17-20, 2024
8PM @ The Citadel
Tickets: Not Currently Available
World Premiere

The presentation of Bear is made possible (in part) by the Government of Canada.

16mm Fragments by Sonya Stefan

Video Installation
Jean Soper Studio
Doors open nightly @ 7PM

Citadel LIVE presents

Bear
Choreographed and Performed by Allison Cummings


Bear
is a meditative journey through the dreams, ideas, people and pathways that make up a life. The piece connects what one individual offers, to what they receive amidst the chaotic unpredictability of life while existing in a timed system of precise universal patterns and cycles. And finally, from its beginning origin, it’s a confrontation of motherhood from the very real personal perspective that I may leave my child motherless before he is grown.


Approximate run time is 50 minutes.


Bear is accompanied by a video installation by filmmaker/dance artist Sonya Stefan. Embracing the 16mm film aesthetic, the installation will showcase excerpts from diverse film experiments, featuring artists Elena Kargin, Sylvain Poirier, and Stefan’s daughter, Charlotte.

Meet the Artists

Photo of Allison Cummings Photo by Lyon Smith

Allison Cummings

Choreographer / Performer

Allison Cummings is a performer/choreographer/art maker, who produces her artistic work under the umbrella name Sore for Punching You. She is based in Toronto, Canada. Her work has been presented at multiple venues and festivals across Canada since 1996. Internationally her work has been presented in Accra, Ghana, and Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand.

She has self-produced 5 multidisciplinary full length works, Quiver ‘02, Clutch ‘06, Devouring Lions ‘09, Final Savage Land ‘13 and Exhale ‘18 at various venues in Toronto. She has been commissioned for works by STDT (Dance Arts Institute), TDT, and multiple solo performers in Canada.

She is the recipient of multiple arts grants and awards including but not limited to: The John D. and Susan P. Diekman Fellowship – California – 2012, Recipient of The Toronto Emerging Artist Award in Dance – 2000, K.M Hunter Award Shortlisted – 2006 and 2008.

She has recently been appointed Artistic Director of Moonhorse Dance Theatre, an organization that focuses on presenting opportunities for established dance artists over the age of 45.

www.soreforpunchingyou.com

Photo of Sonya Stefan

Sonya Stefan

Filmmaker / Dance Artist

Sonya Stefan’s specialty is 16mm film and dance documentary. Her artistic journey has garnered prestigious recognition, including the 2021 Best National Medium-Length Film award at the Montreal International Documentary Festival (RIDM) for her work titled ‘The Truss Arch.’ Subsequently, in 2022, she was awarded the title of Best Experimental Film at Les Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma.

Sonya’s creative work extended to the 2022 Iris Awards, where her film earned a nomination for Best Short Documentary. Her work has graced the screens of renowned festivals such as the Ann Arbor Film Festival and other international venues.​

During her residency in Argentina with ArtlabPro, Sonya collaborated with Amplify D.A.I. sound artist Lain-9, resulting in the debut of their creation, ‘IK Pegasi,’ crafted with Touch Designer. Sonya’s artistic pursuits have led her to collaborate with esteemed entities, including the multimedia dance company Animals of Distinction and the experimental music act Group A from Berlin, composed of Tommi Tokyo and Sayaka Botanic. In partnership with artist Stephanie Castonguay, their collective, known as ‘Technologies of Consciousness,’ became the first-ever artists-in-residence at Biosphere Montreal. Here, they delved into research on bioplastics, setting the stage for their forthcoming work, ‘The Intimacy of Strangers.’ Sonya Stefan’s artistic footprint continues to evolve, pushing the boundaries of multimedia artistry and paving the way for innovative expressions of creativity.

www.sonyastefan.com

Show Credits

Choreographer and Performer: Allison Cummings (Sore for Punching You)
Sound Design: Valerie Calam
Costume Design: Valerie Calam
Set Design: Allison Cummings, Porter Cummings
Lighting Design: Sharon DiGenova
Outside Eye: Vivine Scarlett

The development and production of Bear was generously supported by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Toronto Arts Council. 

Artist Notes

This work has been in process off and on since 2019. It has been gifted creative residencies at the late Hub14, Peggy Baker Dance Projects Space Residency at NBS, TDT Space Residency, and the Arts Orillia Dance and Design Residency. This work is made for Danny Wild and Porter Cummings.

READ: Behind the creation of “Bear”
A conversation with choreographer and performer Allison Cummings

Headshot of Valerie Calam

Valerie Calam

Sound Design | Costume Design

Read Bio
Back to Citadel LIVE 23.24