Skip to main content
Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

between me and you

Le 14 au 17 février 2024
20h00 à la Citadelle
Tickets: Not Currently Available
Première mondiale

Artiste de l’incubateur créatif
adelheid

Citadel LIVE présente

between me and you
Chorégraphiée et interprétée par Heidi Strauss

 

Dans un langage physique qui oscille entre l’incertitude et l’ouverture, between me and you explore l’unité et le glissement du temps et de la mémoire. Une méditation sur l’importance d’être à l’écoute de soi et d’autrui, le solo joue avec l’archive, la confiance et l’attente du corps. Il expose les complexités humaines de la compréhension et de l’interaction dans une ode aux moments que nous passons ensemble et à leur impermanence.


Durée approximative est de 52 minutes.

Les artistes

Photo of Heidi Strauss Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

Heidi Strauss

Chorégraphe / Interprète

Heidi Strauss (elle) réalise des pièces (or œuvres) qui examinent le comportement humain de différentes perspectives. Elle explore les relations comme moyen de considérer la «réalité» de l’endroit et de l’individu que nous sommes – souvent en réponse au moment social et environnemental actuel. En jouant avec la façon dont la performance est perçue/vécue, elle crée des œuvres post-immersives, des installations, des œuvres ambulatoires et des œuvres sensibles au site pour des environnements théâtraux, non théâtraux et numériques, reconfigurant les rôles du public et de l’interprète afin d’approfondir la connexion avec les autres et d’inviter à l’autoréflexion.

Heidi est directrice artistique de la compagnie adelheid, basée à Tkaronto, et chorégraphe lauréate de KM Hunter ainsi que plusieurs prix Dora. Elle a été artiste résidente au Factory Theatre, au Theatre Centre, au Harbourfront Centre, et est actuellement artiste en résidence de L’incubateur (or l’Incubateur) créatif à la Citadelle. Ses collaborations cinématographiques ont été projetées à dança em foco (Rio de Janiero), au festival IDN de nu2 (Barcelone), à d:mic (Toronto), et in-situs dans le cadre d’Art Spin. Elle a reçu des commandes et a chorégaphié pour le Toronto Dance Theatre, Mocean Dance, l’Opéra de Francfort, la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, Volcano Theatre et le Festival de Stratford. Avec Luke Garwood et une incroyable équipe de collaborateurs, elle a récemment développé l’expérience de réalité augmentée You are swimming here. Strauss est titulaire d’un MFA en pratique créative du Transart Institute/Liverpool John Moore’s University.

Crédits

Chorégraphe et interprète: Heidi Strauss (adelheid)
Conception de projection: Jeremy Mimnagh
Conception sonore: Jeremy Mimnagh
Conception d’éclairage: Rebecca Picherack
Oeil extérieur: Ginelle Chagnon
Coach vocale: Fides Krucker
Régis de scène: Helin Gungoren
adelheid productrice artistique: Jasmine Au

Notes de l’artiste

Je m’intéresse depuis longtemps à la relation nuancée et changeante avec le public. À travers ce solo, je joue avec l’interaction pour inviter à une rencontre partagée et temporaire qui peut toucher à la réciprocité affective. J’espère que cette coprésence permet au solo d’être présenté comme un échange avec le public, plutôt que comme une œuvre pour lui.

Headshot of Jeremy Mimnagh

Jeremy Mimnagh

Conception de projection | Conception sonore

Biographie
Retour à Citadel LIVE 23.24

Skip to main content
Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

between me and you

February 14-17, 2024
8PM @ The Citadel
Tickets: Not Currently Available
World Premiere

Creative Incubator Artist
adelheid

Citadel LIVE presents

between me and you
Choreographed and Performed by Heidi Strauss

 

In a physical language that grapples between uncertainty and openness, between me and you explores togetherness and the slippage of time and memory. A meditation on the importance of listening to ourselves and each other, the solo plays with the body’s archive, trust, and expectation. It exposes the complexities of human understanding and interaction in an ode to the moments we have together, and their impermanence. 


Approximate run time is 52 minutes.

Meet the Artists

Photo of Heidi Strauss Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

Heidi Strauss

Choreographer / Performer

Heidi Strauss (she/her) makes work that examines human behaviour from different perspectives. She explores relationships as a way to consider the ‘realness’ of where and who we are – often responding to the current social and environmental moment. In playing with how performance is seen/experienced, she creates post-immersive, installation, ambulatory, and site-sensitive works for theatre, non-theatre and digital environments, reconfiguring the roles of audience and performer to deepen connection with others and invite self-reflection.

Heidi is the artistic director of Tkaronto-based adelheid, and a KM Hunter and multi-Dora Award winning choreographer. She has been a resident artist at the Factory Theatre, The Theatre Centre, Harbourfront Centre, and is currently in Incubator Residency artist at The Citadel. Her film collaborations have been screened at dança em foco (Rio de Janiero), nu2’s IDN festival (Barcelona) d:mic (Toronto) and site-specifically through Art Spin. She has been commissioned by/choreographed for Toronto Dance Theatre, Mocean Dance, The Frankfurt Opera, The Canadian Opera Company, Volcano Theatre, and the Stratford Festival. With Luke Garwood and an incredible collaborative team, she recently developed the augmented reality experience You are swimming here. Strauss holds an MFA in Creative Practice from the Transart Institute/Liverpool John Moore’s University. 

adelheid.ca

Show Credits

Choreographer and Performer: Heidi Strauss (adelheid)
Projection Design: Jeremy Mimnagh
Sound Design: Jeremy Mimnagh
Lighting Design: Rebecca Picherack
Costume Design: Sarah Doucet
Outside Eye: Ginelle Chagnon
Vocal Coach: Fides Krucker
Rehearsal Assistant: Mikaela Orford

Stage Manager: Helin Gungoren
adelheid Artistic Producer: Jasmine Au

Artist Notes

The questions I had when beginning this solo remain. They emerged from attempting to understand the experience of someone (I love) who is losing their memory. An impossible and continuous task, really. Asking questions that have no answers has become an important practice; walking into the unknown continues to be one of the most valuable ways to feel where I am, to navigate my relationships with people, space and consequence, and to learn (and relearn) trust of different kinds. 

Headshot of Jeremy Mimnagh

Jeremy Mimnagh

Projection Design | Sound Design

Read Bio
Back to Citadel LIVE 23.24