Skip to main content
Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

Citadel Dance Mix 2023

Le 22 au 25 novembre 2023
20h00 à la Citadelle
Tickets: Not Currently Available

Citadel Dance Mix 2023 est présenté en partenariat avec Dancemakers

et rendu possible (en partie) par le gouvernement du Canada.

Citadel LIVE présente

Citadel Dance Mix 2023
Avec des œuvres de Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Meghann Michalsky & Katherine Semchuk, et Sofía Ontiveros.

 

Citadel Dance Mix est un programme annuel qui célèbre l’exploration et l’expérimentation. Cette année, nous sommes fiers de présenter trois œuvres de quatre chorégraphes émergents curieux, qui font preuve d’une réelle variété et d’une prise de risque. Le public est invité à apprécier ces œuvres radicales de quelques-uns des meilleurs artistes de Toronto.


La durée approximative est de 1 heure 30 minutes avec pause et entracte.

 

Les artistes

Photo of Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier Photo by Kendra Epik

Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier

Chorégraphe

Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier (elle/iel) est artiste queer, Métisse et Franco-Manitobaine, originaire de Winnipeg, Manitoba (Traité 1), basée à Tkaronto, Ontario. Elle découvre continuellement ce que son identité signifie pour elle, et le rôle que celle-ci jouent dans son art en tant que danseuse, chorégraphe et éducatrice.

Iels sont diplômées en du Dance Arts Institute (anciennement School of Toronto Dance Theatre), et ont également reçu leur Baccalauréat en beaux-arts en performance et chorégraphie (summa cum laude) de l’Université York en 2023. Elle a joué et chorégraphié dans des festivals tels que Skylines Film and Dance Series (Winnipeg), Toronto Fringe Festival, SummerWorks Dance Festival, Covid Dance Hug TO, Bloom Festival. Iels ont eu le plaisir de travailler avec des artistes comme Aria Evans, Cole Alvis, Marie Lambin-Gagnon, Marjolein Vogels (Amsterdam), Clarice Lima (Brazil) et d’autres artistes renommés. Elle s’intéresse à la danse-théâtre et a collaboré en tant que chorégraphe et interprète avec le Théâtre Passe Muraille, le Tarragon Theatre et lemonTree creations. Elle est passionnée par l’apprentissage et a voyagé au niveau national et international pour apprendre auprès d’une grande variété d’artistes. Kéïta cherche à créer et à interpréter des œuvres qui remettent en question le pouvoir, l’hétéronormativité et autres normes sociales qui rejettent son identité. Sa dernière œuvre, Pillar of You, une pièce de danse-théâtre queer qui explore les thèmes de l’identité, de l’enfance et des relations, a été présentée à plusieurs reprises à Toronto par Citadel+Compagnie et à Hamilton par Aeris Körper.

Photo of Sofía Ontiveros Photo by Richie Lubaton

Sofía Ontiveros

Chorégraphe

Sofía Ontiveros est danseuse et chorégraphe basée à Tkaronto, en Ontario, et au Mexique. Sofía est femme queer, blanche et mexicaine, et porte ces éléments de son identité dans ses œuvres en questionnant et en explorant les constructions sociales et la façon dont elles jouent sur les relations individuelles ou interpersonnelles. Sofia est diplômée d’un Baccalauréat en beaux-arts depuis 2021 du programme de danse de la Creative School de l’Université métropolitaine de Toronto (TMU). 

La faculté de TMU l’a choisie pour le prix Lipson Family Endowment Award for an Emerging Choreographer (Prix de la famille Lipson pour un chorégraphe émergent). Parmi ses œuvres les plus récentes, citons Universo de textos, pt.1-6, diffusée en direct dans le cadre de CAMINOS 2021 d’Aluna Theatre, Siéntate bienjouée à Underscore Projects dans le cadre de l’exposition Nature with Nurture 2021 de CREATO, et Ojalá…présentée dans le cadre de Night Shift 2022 de Citadel + Compagnie, coproduite avec Fall for Dance North.
Photo of Meghann Michalsky Photo by Rich Bridgewater

Meghann Michalsky

Chorégraphe / Interprète

Meghann Michalsky est danseuse basée en Alberta. Elle est la co-créatrice de Project InTandem et l’YYC Contemporary Technique Training, deux programmes qui offrent des opportunités aux artistes émergents canadiens. Elle a reçu le prix RBC Emerging Artist award en 2019, et est la première danseuse et chorégraphe à avoir reçu ce prix.

Depuis qu’elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en art et danse contemporaine, avec une concentration en chorégraphie et en performance, de l’université de Calgary, elle a poursuivi rigoureusement sa formation au Canada, en Europe et en Israël. En tant que danseuse, vous l’avez vue danser pour toute une série d’artistes et de compagnies, dont Karissa Barry, Laja Feild of LajaMartin, Davida Monk, Linnea Swan, kloetzel&co et Dancers’ Studio West, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes.
La signature de ses mouvements a été décrite comme vigoureuse, brute, et complexe. Sa connaissance des principes de mouvement du Hip-Hop et du Krump a influencé son développement de qualités de mouvement isolées, rythmiques, liées et rapides dans ses chorégraphiques contemporaines.
Photo of Katherine Semchuk Photo by Kendra Erik

Katherine Semchuk

Chorégraphe / Interprète

Originaire d’Amiskwaciwâskahikan (Edmonton), Katherine est danseuse basée à Tkaronto. Diplômée de la Victoria School of the Arts et de la School of Toronto Dance Theatre, elle a passé les dernières années à établir des liens avec des communautés à travers le Canada. Good Women Dance Collective (GWDC), Kaeja d’Dance, Mile Zero Dance, Nostos Collectives, The Platform TO, Peggy Baker, Shay Kuebler/Radical System Art, Tia Kushniruk, Mateo Galindo Torres, Meghann Michalsky, Sasha Ivanochko et Naishi Wang ont joué un rôle essentiel dans l’évolution de la pratique artistique de Katherine.

À travers sa pratique d’improvisation et ses créations d’œuvres en solo ou en duo, elle continue à développer sa voix en tant que danseuse. Elle travaille sur un projet intitulé Inner Works: A Solo Study qui comprend une collaboration avec Tia Kushniruk, Sasha Ivanochko et Peggy Baker. Son travail chorégraphique a été présenté par Expanse Festival, Fluid Fest, FODAR (Market Dances), Mile Zero Dance et New Dance Horizons. Maybe we Land, un duo créé avec Meghann Michalsky, sera présenté en première et en tournée nationale en 2023.

https://vimeo.com/ksemchuk

Crédits

Pillar of You
Chorégraphe et interprète: Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier
Interprètes et collaboratrices: Morgyn Aronyk-Schell, Tavia Christina, Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Kiah Francis, Barbara Simms
Doublure: Arin Aronyk-Schell
Auteurs: Tavia Christina, Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Kiah Francis, avec des contributions de Barbara Simms et Morgyn Aronyk-Schell
Musique sourcée: Melt Away par  yes/and, maladaptive daydreams, first light, one after another toutes composées par shn shn
Montage sonore et composition originale: shn shn (Shanika Maria)
Conception des costumes: Luc Cimino
Oeil extérieur: Eilish Shin-Culhane

Ojalá…
Chorégraphe: Sofía Ontiveros, en collaboration avec les interprètes
Interprètes: Danielle Davis, Kiah Francis, Aryana Malekzadeh, Simon Mazziotti, Frédérique Perron, María Riaño
Collaboratrice: María Riaño
Musique: Flower by Paniyolo; Verstopetje by Grey Honey; Hasta que te conocí by Juan Gabriel; Akn by Katil
Productrice: Jasmine Au

Maybe we Land
Chorégraphes et interprètes: Meghann Michalsky, Katherine Semchuk
Musique sourcée: Svarte Greiner, James Holden/The Animal Spirits, Drew McDowall, Sarah Neufeld, Colin Stetson, Vessel, Yves De May
Montage sonore et composition originale: Projectwhatever
Conception d’éclairage: Victoria Bell
Conception des costumes: Angela Dale
Yeux extérieur: Denise Clarke, Mike Czuba, Helen Husak, Emily Spearing, Irma Villafuerte
Photographie: Jeremy Mimnagh
Conception de costumes pour photographie promotionnelle: Alessia Urbani
Dramaturge: Irma Villafuerte


Équipe de productions

Directeur et concepteur de l’éclairage: Noah Feaver
Régisseuse de scène: Helin Gungoren



Programme

Pillar of You

Pillar of You explore les piliers, c’est-à-dire les éléments centraux de notre identité, en mettant l’accent sur les relations queers de toutes sortes et la façon dont notre queerness s’entrecroisent avec nos expériences personnelles, de l’enfance à aujourd’hui. 

Pillar of You est soutenu par le programme de résidence Open Space, du Ballet national du Canada,  et nos généreux donateurs de GoFundMe, ainsi que par le Conseil des arts de Toronto.

Ojalá…

Ojalá… explore comment les corps se connectent entre eux, notamment à travers des trahisons interpersonnelles et à la recherche de la guérison. Ojalá… dissèque les risques incertains que l’on prend lors d’une relation, avec l’espoir qu’il nous conduise à ce que nous cherchons vraiment à l’intérieur.

Ojalá est soutenu par Aluna Theatre (CAMINOS Festival 2023), le programme de résidence Open Space, du Ballet national du Canada, Louis Laberge-Côté, et l’Université métropolitaine de Toronto.

Maybe we Land

Maybe we Land dévoile les cycles récurrents dans nos relations. Dans une union, nous équilibrons la peur de l’abandon et la dépendance vulnérable avec la connexion euphorique ainsi que le soutien inconditionnel. L’intimité nous lie; nous oscillons entre la résistance et l’abandon à sa nature contraignante.

Maybe we Land est soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada, New Dance Horizons, Evolved Movement Arts, Vitlycke Arts Centre, Centro Gruppo Jobel, Winchester Street Theatre / School of Toronto Dance Theatre
Retour à Citadel LIVE 23.24

Skip to main content
Photo by Jeremy Mimnagh

Citadel Dance Mix 2023

November 22-25, 2023
8PM @ The Citadel
Tickets: Not Currently Available

Citadel Dance Mix 2023 is presented in partnership with Dancemakers

and made possible (in part) by the Government of Canada.

Citadel LIVE Presents

Citadel Dance Mix 2023
Featuring works by Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Meghann Michalsky & Katherine Semchuk, and Sofía Ontiveros

 

Citadel Dance Mix is an annual program that celebrates exploration and experimentation. This year we are proud to present three works from four inquisitive emerging choreographers, demonstrating real variety and risk-taking. Audiences are invited to enjoy these radical works by some of Toronto’s very best.


Approximate run time is 1hr 30 minutes with pause and intermission.

Audience warning – these performances use haze and strobe effects.

Meet the Artists

Photo of Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier Photo: Kendra Epik

Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier

Choreographer / Performer

Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier (she/they) is a queer, Métis, Franco-Manitoban artist from Winnipeg, Manitoba (Treaty 1), currently based in Tkaronto, Ontario (Treaty 13). They are continuously discovering what these intersecting identities mean to them, and the role they play in their art as a dancer, choreographer and educator.

They are a 2020 graduate from Dance Arts Institute (formerly the School of Toronto Dance Theatre), and also hold a BFA in Performance and Choreography (Hons) with summa cum laude from York University (2023). They have performed and choreographed in festivals such as Skylines Film and Dance Series (Winnipeg, 2018), Toronto Fringe Festival (2019), SummerWorks Dance Festival (2020), Covid Dance Hug TO (2020), Bloom Festival (2021). They have had the pleasure to work with artists like Aria Evans, Marie Lambin-Gagnon, Marjolein Vogels (Amsterdam) and other distinguished artists. She has an interest in dance-theatre and has collaborated as a choreographer and performer with Theatre Passe Muraille, Tarragon Theatre and lemonTree creations. She is passionate about learning and has travelled nationally and internationally to learn from a variety of artists. Kéïta is interested in creating and performing works that question power, heteronormativity, and other societal norms that reject her identity.

Photo of Sofía Ontiveros Photo by Richie Lubaton

Sofía Ontiveros

Choreographer

Sofía Ontiveros is a dance artist and choreographer based in Tkaronto, Ontario and México. Sofía is a queer, white, Mexican woman, and carries these parts of her identity through her works by questioning and exploring social constructs and how they play on individual or interpersonal relationships. Sofia is a 2021 graduate from Toronto Metropolitan University’s The Creative School BFA Dance Program.

The TMU faculty chose her for the Lipson Family Endowment Award for an Emerging Choreographer. Her most recent works include Universo de textos, pt.1-6, live streamed online through Aluna Theatre’s CAMINOS 2021, Siéntate bien performed live at Underscore Projects through CREATO’s Nature with Nurture 2021 exhibition, and Ojalá… showcased at The Citadel’s Night Shift 2022, co-produced with Fall for Dance North.
Photo of Meghann Michalsky Photo by Rich Bridgewater

Meghann Michalsky

Choreographer / Performer

Meghann Michalsky is a dance artist working in Alberta. She is the co-creator of Project InTandem and YYC Contemporary Technique Training, two programs that offer opportunities to emerging artists in Canada. She was awarded the 2019 RBC Emerging Artist Award – she is the first Dancer/Choreographer to receive this award.

Since completing her BA in Contemporary Dance, with a concentration in Choreography and Performance, at the University of Calgary. She has rigorously pursued her training in Canada, Europe, and Israel. As a dancer, you’ve seen her dance for an array of individual artists and companies, including Karissa Barry, Laja Feild of LajaMartin, Davida Monk, Linnea Swan, kloetzel&co, & Dancers’ Studio West to name a few.

Her movement signature has been described as vigorous, raw, and intricate. Her knowledge of Hip-Hop and Krump movement principles has influenced her development of isolated, rhythmic, bound, and fast-twitch movement qualities into her contemporary choreographies.

Photo of Katherine Semchuk Photo by Kendra Erik

Katherine Semchuk

Choreographer / Performer

Originally from Amiskwaciwâskahikan (Edmonton), Katherine is a dance artist currently based in Tkaronto. An alumni of Victoria School of the Arts and The School of Toronto Dance Theatre, she has spent the last few years connecting with communities across Canada. Good Women Dance Collective (GWDC), Kaeja d’Dance, Mile Zero Dance, Nostos Collectives, The Platform TO, Peggy Baker, Shay Kuebler/Radical System Art, Tia Kushniruk, Mateo Galindo Torres, Meghann Michalsky, Sasha Ivanochko, and Naishi Wang have been integral in informing Katherine’s evolving practice.

Through the investigation of an improvisational practice and the creation of solo/duet work, she continues to dissect her voice as a dance artist. She is currently working on a project called Inner Works: A Solo Study which includes collaborative making with Tia Kushniruk, Sasha Ivanochko and Peggy Baker. Her choreographic work has been presented by Expanse Festival, Fluid Fest, FODAR (Market Dances), Mile Zero Dance, and New Dance Horizons. Maybe we Land, a duet created with Meghann Michalsky, will premiere and tour nationally in 2023.

https://vimeo.com/ksemchuk

Show Credits

Pillar of You
Choreographer and Performer: Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier
Performers and Collaborators: Morgyn Aronyk-Schell, Tavia Christina, Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Kiah Francis, Barbara Simms
Writers: Tavia Christina, Kéïta Fournier-Pelletier, Kiah Francis with contirbutions from Barbara Simms and Morgyn Aronyk-Schell
Understudy: Arin Aronyk-Schell
Sourced Music: Melt Away by yes/and, maladaptive daydreams, first light, one after another all composed by shn shn 
Composer and Sound Mixing:
 shn shn (Shanika Maria)
Costume Designer: Luc Cimino
Outside Eye: Eilish Shin-Culhane

Ojalá…
Choreographer: Sofía Ontiveros, in collaboration with the performers
Performers: Danielle Davis, Kiah Francis, Aryana Malekzadeh, Simon Mazziotti, Frédérique Perron, María Riaño
Collaborator: María Riaño
Music Credits: Flower by Paniyolo; Verstopetje by Grey Honey; Hasta que te conocí by Juan Gabriel; Akn by Katil
Producer: Jasmine Au

Maybe we Land
Choreographers and Performers: Meghann Michalsky, Katherine Semchuk
Sourced Music: Svarte Greiner, James Holden/The Animal Spirits, Drew McDowall, Sarah Neufeld, Colin Stetson, Vessel, Yves De May
Sound Mixing and Original Composition: Projectwhatever
Costume Design: Angela Dale
Outside Eyes: Denise Clarke, Mike Czuba, Helen Husak, Emily Spearing, Irma Villafuerte
Photography: Jeremy Mimnagh
Promotional Photography Costume Designer: Alessia Urbani
Lighting Designer: Victoria Bell


Production Team

Lighting Director and Designer: Noah Feaver
Stage Manager: Helin Gungoren



Program

Pillar of You

Pillar of You explores the pillars – or central building blocks of who we are, with a focus around queer relationships of all kinds and how our queerness intersects with our personal experiences from childhood to today. 

Pillar of You is supported by the National Ballet of Canada’s CreativAction residency program, Open Space, which was supported by our generous GoFundMe Donors, as well as the Toronto Arts Council.

Ojalá…

Ojalá… explores how bodies connect, stumble upon interpersonal betrayals, and search for healing. Ojalá… dives into the uncertain risks taken in connections, with the hope it leads us to what we truly seek within.

Ojalá is graciously supported by Aluna Theatre (CAMINOS Festival 2023), the National Ballet of Canada’s Open Space programme, Louis Laberge-Côté, and Toronto Metropolitan University.

Maybe we Land

Maybe we Land unveils the recurring cycles experienced inside of our relationships. Within the confines of a union, we balance fears of abandonment and vulnerable dependence with euphoric connection and unconditional support. Intimacy intertwines us; we fluctuate between resisting and surrendering to its binding nature.

Maybe we Land is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, New Dance Horizons, Evolved Movement Arts, Vitlycke Arts Centre, Centro Gruppo Jobel, Winchester Street Theatre/School of Toronto Dance Theatre. 

Back to Citadel LIVE 23.24