Skip to main content

Retrospek

Le 18 au 20 avril 2024 À 20h00
Le 21 avril 2024 À 14h00
à la Citadelle
BILLETS : 25$
AJOUT DE BOISSON : 5$
APRÈS-SOIRÉE (20 AVRIL) : 10$
Achetez vos billets

Compagnie-en-résidence
KasheDance

Citadel LIVE présente

Retrospek
Compagnie-en-résidence

 

KasheDance célèbre son 15e anniversaire avec l’envoûtant Retrospek, une exploration du passé, du présent et une vision créative de l’avenir de la danse noire au Canada. Dirigée par Kevin A. Ormsby et la nouvelle directrice artistique adjointe Jillia Cato, la compagnie vous invite à explorer des chorégraphies chargées des rythmes, des mouvements et de la culture des Caraïbes, de l’Afrique et de la diaspora, ainsi que la défense des droits sociaux et humains.


Durée approximative est de 90 minutes, avec des pauses entre les pièces.

Les artistes

Photo of KasheDance

KasheDance

www.kashedance.com

Incarnation de la diversité artistique tant sur le plan technique que chorégraphique, KasheDance résonne dans une nouvelle généalogie de danse Afro-contemporaine, soutenue par des initiatives de commission en plus d’un rayonnement communautaire ainsi qu’éducatif. 

Le processus créatif de la compagnie est sous-tendu par un modèle à trois pilliers « CRP », dans lequel la Création / Recherche / Présentation est propulsée par un prolongement de la démarche innovée par Liz Lerman, le Critical Response Process (Processus de Réaction Critique) et ancrée dans la Collaboration, la Représentation et les Partenariats. KasheDance puise dans les arts visuels, la musique, les médias mixtes et la poésie déclamée (spoken word) avec une curiosité tant artistique que sociale afin de nourrir des conversations ciblées et progressistes autour de notre discipline tout en situant les gens et les publics dans une interaction culturelle croisée. Leur production FACING Home : Love and Redemption fut votée parmi les dix premières performances à Madison (Wisconsin) en 2015, dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec le département de danse de l’Université du Wisconsin et à été produite en tournée dans dix villes aux États-Unis, au Canada et dans les Caraïbes, en plus d’être l’œuvre en vedette de la Fierté de Sainte Croix, aux Îles Vierges américaines, en 2019.

Crédits

Until Then…NOW

Chorégraphe: Kevin A. Ormsby
Musique: Fela Kuti, Don Pullen / Chief Cliff Singers, Osunlade avec Oveous Maximus
Costumes: Kadeem Faustin, Hyacinth Ormsby
Conception d’éclairage: Sharon DiGenova
Dramaturge précédent: Ronald Taylor

Recalcitrare (2011)

Chorégraphe: Kevin A. Ormsby
Responsable créatif: Cheryl Chan
Musique: George Gao, Vincent Segal, Ballaké Sissoko, SuperString Theory
Direction des répétitions/Dramaturgie précédente:  Arsenio Andrade, Ronald Taylor
Conception d’éclairage: Sharon DiGenova
Costumes: Diane Sobers

FACING Home: Love & Redemption (2016)

Chorégraphe: Chris Walker, Kevin A. Ormsby
Adaptation du mouvement: Mikhail Morris (Waggonist Section)
Responsables créatif: Pierre Clark, Amansu Eason
Musique:  Monty Alexander
Direction des répétitions/Dramaturgie précédente: Ronald Taylor
Conception d’éclairage: Sharon DiGenova, Claude Heinttz
Costumes: Dexter Pottinger (consultation), Diane Sobers

Re:Imaginings “time, place and movement” (2020)

Chorégraphe: Kevin A. Ormsby
Compositrice: Joy Lapps-Lewis
Musiciens: Joy Lapps-Lewis, Walter Maclean, Derek Thorne
Conception d’éclairage: Sharon DiGenova
Costumes: Micheal Mortley / Kelly LaJuenesse (Pitchy Patchy costume construction), Diane Sobers

construction), Diane Sobers   


Équipe de production

Conception d’éclairage: Sharon DiGenova


Note de l’artiste

Ce fut un plaisir sans égal de revenir sur les chorégraphies que nous avons créées au cours des quinze dernières années et de se;souvenir de tous les danseurs qui nous ont aidés à franchir cette étape, dont plusieurs ont ensuite créé leur propre compagnie de danse. Leur capacité à transformer le chaos de leurs désirs créatifs en clarté chorégraphique m’inspire une grande humilité.

– Kevin Ormsby
Directeur artistique, KasheDance

Programme

Until Then…NOW

Des extraits d’In SEARCH OF OURselves (2010) / BARAKA (2011) / Dreams, Desires, Possibilities (2009), tissent un voyage dans l’exploration des questions existentielles que nous nous posons lorsque nous voyageons à travers les frontières et les limites… C’est un hommage à notre culture, à notre diaspora, aux voyages que nous entreprenons vers des villes cosmopolites, où nous nous posons tous des questions différentes. L’œuvre présente la musique des aborigènes d’Australie et des autochtones américains, ainsi que l’œuvre du maître de l’afrobeat Fela Kuti.

Recalcitrare (2011)
Créée au Festival Danse Canada « Fresh Canadian Choreography », elle explore la relation entre les techniques de danse, l’art et la musique, en se concentrant plus particulièrement aux instruments de la période classique. La partition musicale fait appel à l’Erhu, au violoncelle et à la Kora, interprétés par des artistes tels que le Kronos Quartet, Ballaké Sissoko et Vincent Segal. Le spectacle explore les liens avec la période classique en incorporant des instruments à cordes d’Afrique, d’Europe et d’Asie, ce qui donne lieu à un mélange magnifique et harmonieux de sons et de danses. La pièce explore la manière dont les artistes peuvent agir en tant que « récalcitrants » résistant à l’autorité, aux idées perçues de la musique et du mouvement.

 

FACING Home: Love & Redemption (2016) 
Étant la chorégraphie la plus populaire et tournée de KasheDance, la pièce est influencée par la culture jamaïcaine, la musique reggae et les droits humains. La pièce utilise des reprises des chansons de Bob Marley par des artistes tels que Matisyahou, Luciano et Monty Alexander. « FACING Home » aborde la contradiction entre les idéaux antillais de libération que l’on retrouve dans la musique de Marley et l’oppression subie par la communauté LGBTQ. Le co-chorégraphe Chris Walker, qui est également directeur de la division des arts à l’université du Wisconsin-Madison, a expliqué l’inspiration derrière la pièce en faisant référence à « FACING Home met en lumière le paradoxe autour de la prédication antillaise de libération que l’on retrouve dans la musique de Marley, tout en opprimant simultanément la capacité de la communauté LGBTQ à participer à la famille, à la communauté et à la culture ».

 

Re:Imaginings “time, place and movement” (2020)
Re:Imaginings (Time, Place, and Movement) est un projet qui met en lumière les liens historiques et culturels entre les Caraïbes et le Canada. Il se concentre sur les rituels et les cérémonies des Caraïbes, et donne un aperçu de la riche histoire des Canadiens d’origine caribéenne à travers leurs rythmes vibrants, leurs célébrations et leurs traditions culturelles. Il est ancré d’une tradition carnavalesque et invite à une recherche physique et archivistique de cette « docu-formance », invitant le public à partager l’expérience lors de notre exposition d’avant-spectacle dans le studio inférieur.

 

Retour à Citadel LIVE 23.24

Skip to main content

Retrospek

April 18-20, 2024 @ 8PM
April 21, 2024 @ 2PM
at The Citadel
TICKETS: $25
DRINK ADD-ON: $5
AFTER PARTY (APRIL 20): $10
Get Tickets

Company-in-Residence
KasheDance

Pre-show Exhibition
Doors open nightly @ 7:15PM

Citadel LIVE Presents

Retrospek
Company-in-Residence KasheDance

 

KasheDance celebrates its 15th anniversary with a mesmerizing Retrospek, an exploration of the past, the present and a creative vision for its future in Black dance in Canada. Led by Kevin A. Ormsby and the newly announced Assistant Artistic Director Jillia Cato, the company invites you on an exploration of choreographies steeped in the rhythms, movements, and culture of Caribbean, African, and Diaspora culture, as well as social/human rights advocacy. 


Approximate run time is 90 minutes, with pauses between pieces.

Meet the Artists

Photo of KasheDance Photo by Christopher Cushman

KasheDance

Company-in-Residence

Embodying artistic diversity in technique and choreography, KasheDance echoes in a new genealogy of Afro contemporary dance supported by presentation, outreach initiatives in communities and in education.

The company creates within a three-pronged CRP model where Creative / Research / Presentation, is supported by further creative inquiry with the Critical Response Process pioneered by Liz Lerman and grounded in Collaboration, Representation and Partnerships. KasheDance finds inspiration from visual arts, music, mixed media and spoken word and is creatively and socially curious about how dance can fuel focused and progressive conversations around our practice while situating people and audiences in cross-cultural engagement. KasheDance’s production FACING Home: Love and Redemption was voted in Top 10 2015 performance in Madison, Wisconsin, in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Madison Dance Department and has toured to ten cities in US, Canada and the Caribbean. The work was the featured performance event of the USVI, St. Croix Pride 2019.

www.kashedance.com

Show Credits

Until Then…NOW 

Choreographer: Kevin A. Ormsby
Music: Fela Kuti, Don Pullen / Chief Cliff Singers, Osunlade with Oveous Maximus
Costumes: Kadeem Faustin, Hyacinth Ormsby
Lighting Design: Sharon DiGenova
Previous Dramaturg: Ronald Taylor 

Recalcitrare (2011)

Choreographer: Kevin A. Ormsby
Creative Lead: Cheryl Chan
Music:  George Gao, Vincent Segal, Ballaké Sissoko, SuperString Theory
Previous Rehearsal Direction / Dramaturgy:  Arsenio Andrade, Ronald Taylor
Lighting Design: Sharon DiGenova
Costumes: Diane Sobers 

FACING Home: Love & Redemption (2016)

Choreographer: Kevin A. Ormsby, Chris Walker
Movement Adaptation: Mikhail Morris (Waggonist Section)
Creative Leads: Pierre Clark, Amansu Eason
Music: Monty Alexander
Previous Rehearsal Direction / Dramaturg: Ronald Taylor
Costumes: Dexter Pottinger (consultation), Diane Sobers 
Lighting Design: Claude Heinttz

Re:Imaginings “time, place and movement“ (2020)

Choreographer: Kevin A. Ormsby
Composer: Joy Lapps-Lewis
Musicians: Joy Lapps-Lewis, Walter Maclean, Derek Thorne
Costumes: Micheal Mortley / Kelly LaJuenesse (Pitchy Patchy costume construction), Diane Sobers   


Production Team

Lighting Design: Sharon DiGenova


Artist Note

It has been an absolute pleasure to look back on the choreographies we’ve created over the past fifteen years and to re:member all the dancers who have helped us reach this milestone, many of whom went on to form their own dance companies. I’m truly humbled by their ability to bring the chaos of their creative desires to choreographic clarity. 

– Kevin Ormsby
Artistic Director, KasheDance

Program

Until Then…NOW
Excerpts of In SEARCH OF OURselves (2010) / BARAKA (2011) / Dreams, Desires, Possibilities (2009), weave a journey into the exploration of the existential questions we ask ourselves as we travel through boundaries and borders… It is a tribute to our culture, our diaspora, the journeys we take to cosmopolitan cities, where all ask varying questions of ourselves. The work features the music of the Aborigines from Australia and Indigenous Americans, as well as the work of Afrobeat master Fela Kuti.

Recalcitrare (2011) 
Premiered at the Canada Dance Festival “Fresh Canadian Choreography” and explored the relationship between dance techniques, art, and music, specifically focusing on the instruments of the classical period. The musical score featured the Erhu, Cello, and Kora, performed by artists such as Kronos Quartet, Ballaké Sissoko, and Vincent Segal. The performance investigated connections to the classical period by incorporating stringed instruments from Africa, Europe, and Asia, resulting in a beautiful and harmonious blend of sound and dance. The piece explores how artists can act as “recalcitrants” resistors of authority, perceived ideas on music and movement. 

FACING Home: Love & Redemption (2016)  
KasheDance’s most popular viewed and toured choreography is influenced by Jamaican culture, reggae music, and human rights. The piece uses covers of Bob Marley’s songs by artists such as Matisyahou, Luciano, and Monty Alexander. “FACING Home” tackles the contradiction of West Indian ideals of liberation found in Marley’s music and the oppression faced by the LGBTQ community. Co-choreographer Chris Walker, who is also the Director of the Division of the Arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, explained the inspiration behind the piece by referencing “FACING Home highlights the paradox around the West Indian preaching of liberation we find in Marley’s music, while simultaneously oppressing the LGBTQ’s community’s ability to participate in family, community and culture.” 

Re:Imaginings “time, place and movement” (2020) 
Re:Imaginings (Time, Place, and Movement) is a project that uncovers the historical and cultural ties between the Caribbean and Canada. It focuses on Caribbean rituals and ceremonies, providing insight into the rich history of Caribbean Canadians through their vibrant rhythms, celebrations, and cultural traditions. It is steeped in a carnival tradition and invites both a physical and archival research into this “docu-formance” inviting audiences to share in the experience at our pre-show exhibition in the lower studio.  

Back to Citadel LIVE 23.24