Skip to main content
Photo by Tracey Lynne

Programme 2

Le 9 avril 2024 à 19h00
Le 11 avril 2024 à 21h00
Le 13 avril 2024 à 19h00
Le 14 avril, 2024 à 14h00
Tickets: Not Currently Available Achetez vos billets
3 premières mondiales

Présenté en collaboration avec le programme CreativAction du Ballet national du Canada, avec le soutien de DanceWorks.

Citadel Spring Mix présente

Programme 2
Avec Kala Dance Collective, Sofi Gudiño, Samantha Sutherland

 

Programme 2 est un triple programme comprenant trois premières mondiales des chorégraphes torontois.es Kala Dance Collective, Sofi Gudiño et Samantha Sutherland. Les artistes de ce programme ont été sélectionnées et soutenues par le programme Open Space du Ballet national du Canada, offrant à chaque artiste une résidence de création significative au Centre Walter Carsen afin de soutenir le développement des œuvres que vous verrez débuter ici à Citadel Spring Mix!

Le programme comprend également un nouveau duo de Hanna Kiel, créé dans le cadre du programme de CreativAction Micro-Commission en collaboration avec les apprentis danseurs du Ballet national du Canada, mettant en scène Maisee Anderson et Ewan Hartman.


La durée approximative est de 70 minutes.

Les artistes

Photo of Hanna Kiel Photo courtesy of the artist

Hanna Kiel

Hanna Kiel, lauréate de prix Dora, est originaire de Séoul, en Corée du Sud, et s’est installée à Vancouver en 1996. Elle a présenté son travail au Festival de 12 Minutes Max, au Festival de PlanB Singles and le Solos Festival, au Dancing on the Edge Festival et à Pulse au Scotiabank Dance Centre de Vancouver. En 2007, elle a collaboré avec Yoko Ono en tant que danseuse et chorégraphe au Centre A. Installée à Toronto en 2008, Hanna a continué à chorégraphier pour : Rosedale Heights School of the Arts, Conteur Dance Academy, George Brown Dance, Ryerson Dances, School of Toronto Dance Theatre, Kenny Pearl’s Emerging Artist Intensive, IGNITE, ProArteDanza, Ballet Jörgen, Alias Dance Project, le Ballet national du Canada, le Canadian Contemporary Dance Theatre, le Toronto Dance Theatre, Dusk Dances, Tarragon et Decidedly Jazz Danceworks à Calgary. 

En 2012, elle a remporté le concours chorégraphique international «Pretty Creatives» du Northwest Dance Project et a été E-chorégraphe en 2015 pour Springboard Danse Montréal. Hanna est chorégraphe résidente du Ballet Jörgen au Canada.

Photo of Kala Dance Collective Photo by Nancy Thavaruban

Kala Dance Collective

Nous sommes un collectif de danseuses fermement ancrées dans la tradition classique du Bharatanatyam. Notre parcours artistique a été marqué par une croissance individuelle et une synergie collective. Nous sommes motivés par le désir de ne pas seulement maintenir les éléments classiques de notre forme, mais aussi de leur insuffler des perspectives innovantes et contemporaines. Notre collectif se consacre à explorer de nouveaux horizons et à repousser les limites de la tradition tout en préservant son intégrité. Nous cherchons à raconter des histoires qui résonnent avec l’expérience diasporique, à célébrer notre héritage commun et à mettre en valeur la beauté et la diversité de la culture sud-asiatique par le biais de la danse.

Photo of Samantha Sutherland Photo by Aidan Tooth Photography

Samantha Sutherland

Samantha est artiste de danse contemporaine, chorégraphe et enseignante basée à Tkaronto. Ses ancêtres sont des Ktunaxas et des colons écossais/britanniques. Elle a obtenu son diplôme de danse du programme d’Arts Umbrella en 2018. Samantha chorégraphe des œuvres en solo depuis 2021 et a participé aux festivals à travers l’île de la Tortue. Citons le Matriarchs Uprising Festival de O.Dela Arts, avec des présentations à Vancouver et au Centre national des Arts, Sharing the Stage avec le Ballet national du Canada, Night Shift de Citadel + Companie et Fall for Dance North, Dance Made in Canada, et Weesageechak Begins to Dance. Elle est actuellement associée artistique à O.Dela Arts.

Photo of Sofi Gudiño  Photo by Jamila Noritz Reyes

Sofi Gudiño 

Sofi Gudiño est  danseur.se de flamenco contemporain.e basé.e à Toronto. Gudiño a fondé l’Inamorata Dance Collective en 2014 pour explorer le flamenco en dehors de ses présentations traditionnelles, sous l’influence de la diaspora latine et de l’art du spectacle queer. En tant que chorégraphe, Gudiño a bénéficié de résidences au Toronto Dance Theatre et à Dancemakers, avec des premières chorégraphiques à Nuit Blanche, Pride, et avec leur pièce Picaza, nominée pour un prix, au Toronto Fringe. Sofi a été nominée pour les Prix Johanna Performing Arts 2023 pour leur impact reconnu dans le domaine, et, va prendre le rôle de directeur.rice du festival Dusk Dances en 2024.

Until You See Me
Chorégraphe:
Hanna Kiel
Interprètes:
Maisee Anderson*, Ewan Hartman*
*Apprentis du RBC avec le Ballet national du Canada
Musique: Nocturne No. 13 en do mineur, Op. 48 No. 1 – Frédéric Chopin
Conception de costumes: Stacy Dimitropoulos
Conception d’éclairage: Jeff Logue

Kula Devi
Chorégraphe: Kala Dance Collective
Interprètes: Rachana Joshi, Hemantika Mahesh, Purawai Vyas
Compositeur/Chanteur: Ganesh Iyer

naⱡa
Chorégraphe: Samantha Sutherland
Interprètes: Cody Berry-Ottertail, Zachary Cardwell, Katie Couchie, Kristin DeAmorim
Compositrice: Sophie Dow
Conception de costumes: Asli Ozuak
Conception de décors: Julia Kim
Regard extérieur: Olivia C. Davies, Aria Evans, Martha Hart
Conception d’éclairage: Emerson Kafarowski

PAJAROJITO
Chorégraphe/Interprète: Sofi Gudiño
Conception Sonore: Sofia Fly
Conception de costumes: Rita Benz, Joseph Quezal
Stylisme: Joseph Quezal
Regard extérieure: Makeda Benitez, Brayden Cairns, Kiah Francis, Ximena Huizi, Nicole Karges, Heath Salazar, Nikola Steer

 


ÉQUIPE DE PRODUCTION

Conception d’éclairage: Simon Rossiter
Conceptrice d’éclairage associé:Mathilda Kane
Régisseuse de scène:
Helin Gungoren
Directrice de la production:
Marianna Rosato
Directeur technique: Eliajah Stefura
Technicien de maison/ingénieur du son: Adam Achacon

Kula Devi

S’inspirant de notre formation en Bharatanatyam, Kula Devi est un hommage à nos déesses ancestrales et une réflexion sur l’entrelacement  des rôles de la divinité et du dévot. Le rituel et la signification de la répétition sont examinés, révélant comment le soin d’une divinité reflète le soin de soi. L’œuvre célèbre la résilience et le respect de notre patrimoine dans un contexte contemporain.

naⱡa

naa réfléchit à l’existence de multiples identités de soi. Pourquoi notre comportement change-t-il en fonction de l’environnement dans lequel nous nous trouvons et des personnes qui nous entourent? Où sommes-nous le plus authentique?

PAJAROJITO

PAJAROJITO est une extravagance de drag king flamenco et une lettre d’amour à la masculinité latine. Inspiré par les oiseaux mâles flamboyants des tropiques, cet amoureux est un flirt sans défense qui est déterminé à montrer ses plumes les plus brillantes dans l’espoir de devenir votre prochain coup de foudre.

Retour à Citadel Spring Mix

Skip to main content
Photo by Tracey Lynne

Programme 2

April 9, 2024 @ 7PM
April 11, 2024 @ 9PM
April 13, 2024 @ 7PM
April 14, 2024 @ 2PM
Tickets: Not Currently Available Get Tickets
3 World Premieres

Presented in collaboration with The National Ballet of Canada’s CreativAction Programme, with support from DanceWorks.

Citadel Spring Mix Presents

Programme 2
Featuring Kala Dance Collective, Sofi Gudiño, Samantha Sutherland, Hanna Kiel for The National Ballet of Canada’s Apprentices

 

Programme 2 is a mixed program featuring 3 world premieres by Toronto choreographers Kala Dance Collective, Sofi Gudiño, and Samantha Sutherland. The artists on this programme were selected by and supported through The National Ballet of Canada’s Open Space programme, providing each artist with a significant creation residency at the Walter Carsen Centre to support the development of the works you will see debuting here at Citadel Spring Mix!

Joining the programme is a new duet by Hanna Kiel created through the CreativAction Micro-Commission Programme in collaboration with The National Ballet of Canada Apprentice Dancers, featuring Maisee Anderson and Ewan Hartman.

Approximate run time is 70 minutes.

Meet the Artists

Photo of Hanna Kiel Photo courtesy of the artist

Hanna Kiel

Dora winner Hanna Kiel is from Seoul, South Korea, and moved to Vancouver in 1996. She has presented her work at 12 Minutes Max, PlanB Singles and solos Festival, Dancing on the Edge Festival and Pulse at the Scotiabank Dance Centre in Vancouver. In 2007, she collaborated with Yoko Ono as a dancer and choreographer at the Centre A. Moving to Toronto in 2008, Hanna has continued choreographing for: Rosedale Heights School of the Arts, Conteur Dance Academy, George Brown Dance, Ryerson Dances, School of Toronto Dance Theatre, Kenny Pearl’s Emerging Artist Intensive, IGNITE, ProArteDanza, Ballet Jörgen, Alias Dance Project, The National Ballet of Canada, Canadian Contemporary Dance Theatre, Toronto Dance Theatre, Dusk Dances, Tarragon and Decidedly Jazz Danceworks in Calgary.

In 2012 she won Northwest Dance Project’s ‘Pretty Creatives’ international choreographic competition and she was an E-choreographer in 2015 for Springboard Danse Montreal. Hanna is a resident choreographer at Canada’s Ballet Jorgen.

Photo of Kala Dance Collective Photo by Nancy Thavaruban

Kala Dance Collective

We are a collective of dancers firmly rooted in the classical tradition of Bharatanatyam. Our artistic journey has been one of both individual growth and collective synergy. We are driven by the desire to not only uphold the classical elements of our form, but to also infuse them with innovative and contemporary perspectives. Our collective is dedicated to exploring new horizons, and pushing the boundaries of tradition while upholding its integrity. We seek to tell stories that resonate with the diasporic experience, to celebrate our shared heritage, and to showcase the beauty and diversity of South Asian culture through dance.  

Photo of Samantha Sutherland Photo by Aidan Tooth Photography

Samantha Sutherland

Samantha is a contemporary dance artist, choreographer, and teacher based in Tkaronto. Her ancestry is Ktunaxa and Scottish/British Settler. She graduated from the Arts Umbrella Dance Diploma Program in 2018. Samantha has been choreographing solo works since 2021 and has presented in festivals across Turtle Island. Some include the Matriarchs Uprising Festival by O.Dela Arts with presentations in Vancouver and at the National Arts Centre, Sharing the Stage with The National Ballet of Canada, Night Shift by Citadel + Companie and Fall for Dance North, Dance Made in Canada, and Weesageechak Begins to Dance. She is currently an Artistic Associate with O.Dela Arts.

Photo of Sofi Gudiño  Photo by Jamila Noritz Reyes

Sofi Gudiño 

Sofi Gudiño is a dance artist and community organizer based in Toronto. Raised in flamenco and established in contemporary dance, Sofi’s work is marked by emotional intensity and choreographic risk. Gudiño began flamenco studies as a child at the Acadamey of Spanish Dance with Esmeralda Enrique, and has since contiunued in Spain with Úrsula López, Alicia Márquez, Pastora Galván, Lorena Franco and many others. In 2014, Sofi founded the Inamorata Dance Collective as a site to explore flamenco outside of its traditional presentations.

As a choreographer, Gudiño has enjoyed residencies at Toronto Dance Theatre and Dancemakers, with choreographic premieres including Nuit Blanche, Pride, and with their award nominated piece, Picaza, in Toronto Fringe. Sofi was nominated in the 2023 Johanna Performing Arts Prizes for their recognized impact on the field, and recently assumed the role of Festival Director at Dusk Dances.

Show Credits

Until You See Me
Choreographer:
Hanna Kiel
Performers:
Maisee Anderson*, Ewan Hartman*
*RBC Apprentices with The National Ballet of Canada
Music: Nocturne No. 13 in C Minor, Op. 48 No. 1 – Frédéric Chopin
Costume Design: Stacy Dimitropoulos
Lighting Design: Jeff Logue

Kula Devi
Choreographer: Kala Dance Collective
Performers: Rachana Joshi, Hemantika Mahesh, Purawai Vyas
Composer/Vocalist: Ganesh Iyer 

naⱡa
Choreographer: Samantha Sutherland
Performers: Cody Berry-Ottertail, Zachary Cardwell, Katie Couchie, Kristin DeAmorim
Composer: Sophie Dow
Costume Design: Asli Ozuak
Set Design: Julia Kim
Outside Eye: Olivia C. Davies, Aria Evans, Martha Hart
Lighting Design: Emerson Kafarowski 

PAJAROJITO 
Choreographer/Performer:
Sofi Gudiño
Sound Design:
Sofia Fly
Costume Design:
Rita Benz, Joseph Quezal
Styling:
Joseph Quezal
Outside Eye:
Makeda Benitez, Brayden Cairns, Kiah Francis, Ximena Huizi, Nicole Karges, Heath Salazar, Nikola Steer
 


Production Team

Lighting Design: Simon Rossiter
Associate Lighting Design: 
Mathilda Kane
Stage Manager:
Helin Gungoren
Production Manager:
Marianna Rosato
Technical Director: Eliajah Stefura
House Technician/Sound Engineer: Adam Achacon

Program

Until You See Me

“Discovering Your True Self” is a journey of self-exploration and personal growth in which you embark on a quest to understand your innermost desires, values, and aspirations. It’s a process of peeling back the layers of your identity to reveal the authentic you, embracing both your strengths and vulnerabilities. This piece is about the human experience, delving deep into the human spirit’s capacity for self-discovery, and offering profound insights and life-changing revelations along the way. 

Kula Devi

Informed by our foundation in Bharatanatyam, Kula Devi, is an homage to our ancestral goddesses, reflecting on the intertwining roles of deity and devotee. Ritual and the significance of repetition are examined, revealing how caring for deity mirrors self-care. The piece celebrates the resilience and reverence of our heritage within a contemporary context.

naⱡa 

naⱡa reflects on existing with multiple identities of oneself. Why do we shift how we behave depending on what environment we are in and who we surround ourselves with? Where are we our most true selves? 

PAJAROJITO 

PAJAROJITO is a flamenco drag king extravaganza and a love letter to Latin masculinity. Inspired by flamboyant male birds of the tropics, this lover boy is a helpless flirt who is determined to show off his brightest feathers in the hopes of becoming your next crush. 

Headshot of Rachana Joshi

Rachana Joshi

Choreographer | Performer

Read Bio
Headshot of Hemantika Mahesh

Hemantika Mahesh

Choreographer | Performer

Read Bio
Back to Citadel Spring Mix